What happens on my 7th snow day….

That’s right. Today is my 7th snow day and 6th snow day since returning from Christmas break. I’ve almost had off as many days in the past month, as I have had school! Craziness. When these snow days first started, I was getting antsy. I might be stuck in school until the end of June at this rate. A few teachers in my building promised me that we will get a few of these days forgiven if we make it to 10. So at this point, I am praying for 3 more snow days and forgiveness!

These snow days, however, have given me time to work on some of my ‘hobbies.’ I’ve read two books (for pleasure, not textbooks) in the past 3 weeks. I’ve painted a picture. I’ve tried a handful of my mom’s recipes in my own kitchen. I’ve planned for my speech and language therapy sessions by creating themed weeks (this week should be Pirates week, if we ever have school). I traveled back to PA over the weekend (more on that later). And I’ve wrestled with the idea of starting a blog. Who is going to read it? What will I even write about? These are both questions I’ve pondered, but I’ve decided to quit worrying and just do it.

I was a journalism major my freshman year in college and the desire to write still burns within me. The most writing I do these days are on greeting cards and IEP goals for my speech kids. Hopefully this blog will be a way to share funny little joys from my days as a speech-language pathologist, tasty recipes that I’ve tried and to keep my family and friends in the loop on what I’ve been up to.

For starters, I was back in PA this weekend to attend and help out at one of my dearest friend (and pseudo-big sister’s) baby shower. Sue Lebow, has been a friend since birth and has seen me in my most awkward and annoying phases. She still loves me and I am so thankful for her! In March, she will be giving birth to a baby girl–Molly Moran. I probably will not be back then to see baby Mo so I decided to fly in this weekend to shower her with love ahead of time. This little girl is SO loved. It was also amazing to see my parents, Grandma, aunts and uncles and some of my best friends over the weekend, too. The Super Bowl wasn’t a total disappointment since my mom made crab and artichoke dip and my college friends were around to play a game of Loaded Questions against.

The picture posted is Sue and I at her shower. Baby Mo is growing bigger and healthier! So excited to be an aunt.

A quote that I have been repeating in my head lately reads:

“Take it all one day at a time and enjoy the journey.” -Kristi Bartlett

This quote is going to guide my posts. I want to take it all in, one day at a time and be thankful for this beautiful life that I’ve been given. If you read this post, THANK YOU. You are one of my first blog readers. Hopefully you will return again.

Image

18 thoughts on “What happens on my 7th snow day….

  1. Oh Tara this is great! I’m going to enjoy following your journey, what a perfect thing for you and all of us. Now I’m going to bookmark this.

  2. Hi Tara, You should use those wonderful writing skills to do brain research!!! Did you see the puppy and horse Budweiser commercial during the 4th quarter, it was a heartwarmer.

  3. Tara, you got all the brains. This is awesome and I think a great way for everyone to follow you even if you are in the Midwest. I am excited to keep reading. So keep it coming. I hope after we visit you write on some craziness.

  4. Wow Tara this is perfect for you. Glad to see you finally decided to create a blog. I’m sure your family and friends will enjoy reading your stories and experiences as much as you will enjoy writing about them. Keep the blogs coming baby girl!!

  5. Love this, Tara!! Even though you didn’t quite enjoy your time at the Collegian.. your love of writing still came through after all. You are always so good at writing in birthday, Christmas, and Valentine’s day cards! As long as you keep writing on this new blog, I’ll keep reading…love you!

  6. I love this, Tara. I’ve never blogged before! I’ll enjoy reading about your experiences.
    I like the quote. Words to live by! Love you.

  7. Love your “Blog”! I will definitely enjoy reading. Great way to stay connected. Thank you so much for coming in this weekend…..made the day extra special:)
    Love you, Aunt Patty

Leave a Reply

