The Homestretch…

I am finding out that when you work in a school district, the last month is excruciatingly busy and can be compared to the races in track and field. You want to SPRINT to the finish line but it’s more like a MILE race where there is multiple laps to get through before you cross that line.  Summer break is within reach, but you have to work really hard to get there. That has been so true of my last 3 weeks. It has been the busiest time for me between IEPs, reports, therapy students, meetings, and actual track sprints and mile races while continuing to coach. Our girls won Districts last weekend and we have 19 kids heading to Sectionals this weekend. If any of kids place top 4 at Sectionals, it’s on to States next week! Go Wildcats!

blog5This crazy time of year has caused me to self-reflect when I have little spare moments to myself like when I lay in bed at night trying to turn my mind off. Here are some things crawling through my cranial space as of late:

-I am a list type of person. And I find myself making lists a lot. Lately my work related list has been really, really long. Typically a long list that I am nowhere near completing would drive me crazy but at this point in life I have realized that I should be happy with just small accomplishments. My to-do at work has been 15+ items long all week and as soon as I cross one off, I seem to have to add another. But that is OK! I have accepted the fact and I am OK with it. It will get done (sooner or later).

-I have been eating a TON of avocados, lately. What is with my sudden cravings for these things? Luckily these power packed little treasures are super good for you and I’ve eaten about 4-5 a week for the past few weeks. They are also pretty cheap at the Aldi grocery store I frequent. A few ideas for avocados that I have tried recently:

  • Eating it straight from the skin with a sprinkle of salt and pepper
  • Mashing them and spreading them on toast
  • Slicing them up as a topping on my scrambled eggs
  • Slices on my spinach salads with italian dressing
  • Dicing them up into little pieces and mixing into my store bought salsa to eat with chips

blog6

-Either I am getting way worse at Scrabble or Nick is getting way better. We have played Scrabble for the past few Sundays before we head to our separate homes and he has been winning. This is a huge change! He has been putting words on the board such as “fable.” (I honestly didn’t think he even knew that word). Check out the picture below for a picture of our latest board and look on there for the shockers that he added. Either way, I am thankful that we can enjoy our time together and be so easily entertained by the little things.

PS- The two words he added on here that shocked me were: FRAIL and SONNET

blog1

-This year has cultivated my enjoyment in prepping and cooking food. When I actually have the time to cook and prepare food, I really enjoy it. There is something so satisfying about being hands on in the kitchen and then reaping the rewards with a delicious meal at the table. I have been trying to make a meal for Nick and I on the weekends. Sometimes it’s super simple and sometimes I put forth more effort. This past week’s Sunday dinner reminded me that summer veggies are here! Who doesn’t love corn on the cob?

blog2-Lastly, the homestretch is here. 2 weeks of school left and my last weekend with Nick before summer is here. I will be PA bound for the summer to be a part of wedding festivities for a few friends and to spend time with my family. This is definitely bittersweet. I am beyond excited to see my parents, Grandma, family and friends. There are so many festivities planned for this summer that I can barely think about it right now without getting up and spinning around in excitement. But heading home for the summer also means 2 months without Nick who has been my stronghold for the past 10 months. We used to not see each other for 5 months at a time and now look at me—saddened over just 8 weeks away! My Pappaw always told me “Absence makes the heart grow fonder!” I guess that will be the case this summer.

blog3 blog4

 

Joshua 1:9 reminds me: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

What a relief that the Lord will bring me through these next two weeks and this mile long race. He will follow me back to PA, while still watching over Nick here in Missouri this summer. Life continues to be good.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Homestretch…

  1. Your amazing!!! I’ve been in need of a post!!! Mollymo and I are counting down the days till you come home!!!! Give nick a big hug and kiss for us!!! Love you so much and can’t wait to see you!!!!! Missing you this weekend but we will make up for it soon 😘😘

  2. How is your CRANIAL SPACE Doing? HA! Welcome back 2 PA! like your BLOGS! I like JOSHUA 1:9 Also CONGRATS on TRACK EVENTS! Later Tara with the CRANIAL SPASMS? HA! LUV U.C.

  3. You have grown and matured so much this year. Just take it one day at a time- your motto and you will get there. Dad and I can’t wait to have you home for the summer. I know it will go by quickly but we will cherish each day with you. You don’t realize how much you miss someone until they are not around.
    Love you and love reading your blogs. Sooooo inspiring!!!

  4. Well Coach Spach I think it’s safe to say you had a pretty successful year. With school and coaching I think you learned you are still capable of achieving amazing things, even if you might think it is too difficult. I’m proud of you and will be here waiting for you when you come back. 8 weeks will fly and then back to our crazy weekends of random things. Love ya and keep blogging when you are home! It will be my turn to read about stuff you do with the other people who don’t get to see you!! 8)

Leave a Reply

